Skip to content
Dawson School's Madison Shaw (No. 11) ...
Dawson School’s Madison Shaw (No. 11) celebrates a goal with teammate Kanoe Bihag (No. 14) against Crested Butte High School during the Class 2A Girls State Soccer Championship at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City Wednesday, May 25, 2022. (Matthew Jonas/Staff Photographer)

First Team

F — Paige Armstrong, Sr., Legacy: Armstrong was a key part of the Lightning’s dazzling offense this spring. She had 18 goals and 16 assists. Her 52 points were sixth in 5A.

F— Maddie Brady, Sr., Broomfield: Brady, who was the 5A player of the year in 2021, was again impressive in her final season despite two concussions. She was named first team in the Front Range League and in 5A. She is going to Michigan State.

F — Kendall Rippley, Jr., Legacy: Nobody has scored like Rippley in 5A for a long time. Her 34 goals were the most in the largest classification in at least a decade. The junior finished with 82 points, which were the most in 5A.

F — Madison Shaw, Jr., Dawson: The 2A champion’s most valuable player, per Coach John Welsch, had 30 goals in the spring. She had multiple goals in 10 games and scored in the title game.

Fairview High School's Claire Silverman (No. ...
Fairview High School’s Claire Silverman (No. 11) moves the ball up the field in the game against Chatfield High School during the first round of playoffs in Boulder on Tuesday, May 10, 2022. (Matthew Jonas/Staff Photographer)

F— Claire Silverman, Jr., Fairview: The first-team Front Range League player dazzled up front for the Knights. She came off the bench in the Knights’ opening round game of the postseason and scored twice to help her team advance. She finished with 14 goals.

F — Sophia Stalter, So., Monarch: The sophomore broke onto the scene in a big way, scoring 16 goals and two assists. The sophomore was the Coyotes’ only FRL first-team selection.

F — Haley Williams, Sr., Mead: The Northern League player of the year scored 27 goals and had six assists in leading the Mavs to the postseason. She finished her career with 60 goals.

MF — Bailey Giddings, Jr., Broomfield: Seemingly always around the big moment, Giddings was named first team in the FRL and second team in 5A. She finished with five goals and six assists.

MF — Allie Jo Kirkpatrick, Jr., Jefferson Academy: The junior, known as a fierce leader in grabbing the 50-50 balls, was first team in the Metro League and in 3A. She helped lead the Jags to the state title game.

MF — Reagan Kotschau, Jr., Broomfield: Named first team in 5A for a second straight year, one of the best players in the state helped lead the Eagles from the midfield to the title game. She finished with 13 goals and six assists.

MF — Juliauna Hayward, Sr., Legacy: The player of the year was sensational from the middle of the field, scoring 17 goals and 22 assists. Her 56 points were third-most by a 5A player. Hayward, who was a prized recruit, chose to stay home and play for CU.

MF/F — Kaia Holicky, Sr., Boulder: Holicky played some midfield but mostly was a standout forward for the Panthers, where she scored eight goals and three assists. Coach Carlos Real said Holicky is the record holder in goals for Boulder since MaxPreps started keeping stats in 2012.

MF/F — Helen Leon, Sr., Dawson: The 2A player of the year was the team’s center midfielder. She had 19 goals in leading the Mustangs to a second straight title.

MF – Kateri Trujillo, Jr., Prospect Ridge Academy: The first teamer in the Metro League scored 32 goals and had 20 assists, leading the Miners to the 3A quarterfinals.

D — Madison Allshouse, Sr., Legacy: The stout defender, who is going to Army, was solid on the backline for a group that allowed just 12 goals. They reached the 5A quarterfinals.

D — Monet Becvar, Sr., Silver Creek: The senior captain helped lead the Raptors to the 5A postseason after they missed it in 2021.

D — Ava Kuszak, Sr., Holy Family: The standout softball player was also a crucial part of the team’s soccer backline. Kuszak helped lead the Tigers to the postseason.

D— Taryn Rea, Sr., Broomfield: Named first team in the FRL and second team in 5A, Rea was a big part of Jim Davidson’s shutdown unit. The Eagles allowed just 14 goals in the spring.

GK — Shay Kercher-Pratt, Jr., Legacy: Kercher-Pratt was the lone goalie named to the FRL first team. She helped guide the Lightning to the 5A quarterfinals.

GK — Kayla Kirchoffner, So., Erie: The sensational sophomore was first team in the NCAC, totaling 54 saves and eight shutouts in 15 games played.

GK — Page Sanchez, Sr., Centaurus: Sanchez allowed just 14 goals in 16 games, totaling seven shutouts. When out of the net, she played forward and scored six goals.

Coach — John Welsch, Dawson: After starting the year 2-3-1, the first-year coach guided the Mustangs back to the top of the podium in 2A.


Katie Adler, Fr., Mead; Parker Allshouse, So., Legacy; Abbie Anson, Sr., Skyline; Hannah Barrett, Jr., Niwot; Skylee Barry, Sr., Nederland; Kanoe Bihag, Fr., Dawson; Eve Bleam, Sr., Boulder; Fransiska Blois, Sr., Centaurus; Ella Burns, Sr., Silver Creek; Alyson Campbell, Jr., Fairview; Sydney Cheesman, Sr., Centaurus; Emerson DeLuca, So., Broomfield; Olivia Dietrich, Sr., Holy Family; Dylan Drennan, Sr., Broomfield;

Natalie Farhar, Jr., Peak to Peak; Gianna Gagliano, So., Jefferson Academy; Xitlali Guereca, Jr., Frederick; Kylie Hoffman, Jr., Legacy; Eva Holwick, Sr., Longmont; Ella Jimenez, So., Erie; Jada Lindquist, Jr., Silver Creek; Michaela McGowan, Jr., Broomfield; Emma Phillips, So., Frederick; Morgan Potts, Sr., Jefferson Academy; Leah Price, Jr., Erie; Nyah Ringer, So., Centaurus; Kate Runyon, Jr., Jefferson Academy;

Morgan Scheller, Sr., Broomfield; Ann Spence, Jr., Centaurus; Sydney Spitz, Sr., Jefferson Academy; Helen Stegner, Jr., Jefferson Academy; Annabelle Stephan, Jr., Centaurus; Ella Stewart, Jr., Dawson; Ava Stockard, So., Prospect Ridge; Natalia Toledo, Jr., Silver Creek; Anna Tucker, Sr., Monarch; Hope Vonlintel, So., Twin Peaks; Megan Wagner, So., Peak to Peak; Sarah Welsch, So., Jefferson Academy; Averi Williams, So., Mead; Tiffany Yie, Jr., Niwot; Ilise Ziebarth, Jr., Fairview.