Skip to content
Cliff Grassmick/Staff Photographer
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – October 30, 2021: Tyler Ball, of Lyons High School, wins the 2A Boys state championship during Colorado State Cross Country on October 30, 2021. (Cliff Grassmick/Staff Photographer)


Tyler Ball, Jr., Lyons: Ball won the Class 2A state meet by nearly 12 seconds, crossing in 16:16.70 at the Norris Penrose Event Center.

Zane Bergen, Sr., Niwot: The runner of the year had the fastest time in the state at 14:42.20 this fall and won the 4A state meet for a second straight season.

Carlos Kipkorir Cheruiyot, Jr., Niwot: Cheruiyot took eighth in the 4A state meet, second in the area only to Bergen.

Gavin Geer, Sr., Boulder: Geer won at Liberty Bell, won his regional, and finished 10th at the 5A state meet, crossing in 16:18.

Joey Hendershot, Sr., Niwot: Hendershot had the sixth-fastest time among Colorado runners at 15:03.10 and took ninth at state.

Evan Kraus, Jr., Erie: The junior set school records en route to three invitational wins and an 11th place finish at the 4A state meet.

Connor McCormick, Sr., Longmont: McCormick won three meets and had the second-fastest time among Colorado runners at 14:55.90.

Andreas O’Malley, Sr., Longmont: O’Malley had the 14th-fastest time among Colorado runners this fall (15:16.90) and had four top-five finishes.

Eric Sankey, Sr., Fairview: Sankey had the eighth-fastest time in the state this fall (15:15.20) and took third at the 5A state meet last month.

Coach – Sean Vandermosten, Fairview: The Knights finished fifth at the 5A state meet and the future only looks brighter from here as they will only graduate Sankey from their state varsity team.


Frederick Ambrose, Jr., Niwot; Sean Beasley, So., Jefferson Academy; Kyle Berg, Sr., Centaurus; Caspar Bartholomew Brown, Jr., Fairview; Jack Brown, So., Fairview; Tim Churchill, Jr., Fairview; Drexel Cox, Jr., Mead; Noah Douglas, Sr., Jefferson Academy; Luke Fritsche, Sr., Erie; Jeremy Gillett, Jr., Niwot; Logan Goodman, Jr., Prospect Ridge; Anthony Haberkorn, Jr., Holy Family; Slaiman Hadi, Sr., Boulder; Stefan Haug, Jr., Niwot; Max Heins, Jr., Centaurus; Nathan Hoffman, Sr., Mead; Nolan Hoffman, Jr., Mead; Aaron Jenkins, Sr., Twin Peaks;

Holden Krizek, So., Fairview; Logan Maddox, Jr., Erie; Ben Mayer, So., Mead; Tyler Mayer, Sr., Mead; Morgan McCuen, So., Boulder;  Joseph McGregor, Jr., Mead; Evan Mills, Sr., Jefferson Academy; Micah Munoz, Sr., Holy Family; Blake Musfeldt, Sr., Boulder; Gordon Nilsen, Jr., Fairview; Isaac Robinson, Sr., Niwot; Santiago Saenz, Jr., Monarch; Avin Singh, Jr., Prospect Ridge; Giorgio Spensieri, Jr., Twin Peaks; Cole Thomas, Jr., Lyons; Dacen Wach, So., Longmont; Dominic Warner, Sr., Longmont; Arjen Wynja, Sr., Lyons; Jake Zajac, Jr., Fairview.