Skip to content
Sydney Rothstein, of Niwot, tees off ...
Cliff Grassmick/Staff Photographer
Sydney Rothstein, of Niwot, tees off in the final round of the 4A Girls Golf State Championships on June 22, 2021.


Aubri Braecklein, Sr., Jefferson Academy: The progression was sweet for Braecklein, who capped her career with a Class 3A state title. Braecklein finished sixth at state as a freshman, then tied for second as a sophomore. She went on to win the CGA Women’s Stroke Play last summer before winning state as a senior. She shot a 2-under 69 on the final day of the 3A tournament to secure it.

Ava Hickey, Fr., Fairview: The Knights freshman was first-team all-conference in the Front Range League. She finished fourth in the league’s final standings, the top placer among 5A local girls.

Nicole Fatovic, Sr., Broomfield: Fatovic, the other first-teamer in the FRL, finished 16th at the 5A state tournament after posting a 12-over 82 and an 80.

Jessica Mason, Jr., Holy Family: Following in the footsteps of former Holy Family ace Hailey Schalk, the player of the year led the 4A state tournament by eight strokes after Day 1, then breezed to victory with her second under-par round at CommonGround Golf Course. She won the 4A tournament by an astounding 10 strokes.

Halie Ostrom, Sr., Niwot: Ostrom won the 4A Longs Peak League and closed her career with a 17th-place finish at the 4A tournament at CommonGround.

Sydney Rothstein, Jr., Niwot: Rothstein had a stellar junior campaign, taking second in the LPL league standings, third at her regional and 23rd at the 4A state tournament.

Timbre Shehee, Jr. Mead: Shehee tipped her cap to Mason following her runaway win at the 4A tournament. But Shehee was spectacular herself, winning her regional before tying for fourth at state. The Shehee-Mason friendly rivalry could be something fun to watch next season.

Noelle Thompson, So., Peak to Peak: Thompson, who may also be the city’s most improved player after she cut her stroke average down from 115, per her coach, won her region and finished 13th at the 3A state meet after shooting 11-over 82 on Day 1, then 91 on Day 2.

Coach of the Year — Robert Braecklein, Jefferson Academy: The Jaguars finished third in the 3A team race and saw Aubri Braecklein win her first individual state title. His team had three golfers inside the top 25, including Samantha Duncan (17th) and Makayla Kinard (23rd).


Jodean Amen, Jr., Mead; Mia Blackard, Sr., Legacy; Marin Cantwell, Fr., Erie; Erin Choi, So., Prospect Ridge; Kaylee Craig, Fr., Peak to Peak; Brooklyn Davis, Jr., Broomfield; Samantha Duncan, So., Jefferson Academy; Olivia Fauerbach, Sr., Frederick; Liesel Heitz, So., Holy Family; JuliAnne Herrmann, Jr., Longmont; Kate Jones, So., Niwot; Ella Junker, Sr., Peak to Peak; Makayla Kinard, Sr., Jefferson Academy; Julia Love, So., Centaurus; Peyton McLeese, Jr., Legacy; Ayla Milan, Fr., Legacy;

Makayla Miller, Fr., Frederick; Sydney O’Connor, So., Erie; Mina O’Dell, Fr., Niwot; Callie Pyle, Jr., Mead; Madison Rooney, Jr., Holy Family; Ansley Schnelle, So., Holy Family; Ava Sommer, Fr., Peak to Peak; Leyni Stavola, Fr., Prospect Ridge; Hampton Traylor, Jr., Broomfield; Adair Tueton, Sr., Monarch; Sarah Wicks, Fr., Fairview.

Join the Conversation

We invite you to use our commenting platform to engage in insightful conversations about issues in our community. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable to us, and to disclose any information necessary to satisfy the law, regulation, or government request. We might permanently block any user who abuses these conditions.