PUEBLO WEST (25-1) VS. D’EVELYN (25-1)

TIME — 4 p.m. Thursday, Coors Events Center.

ROAD TO BOULDER — Pueblo West: (No. 1 seed in Tracy Hill Region) def. No. 9 Roosevelt 58-38; def. No. 4 Delta 58-45; def. No. 2 Centaurus 40-29. D’Evelyn: (No. 1 seed in Tanya Haave Region) def. No. 8 Glenwood Springs 47-44; def. No. 4 Silver Creek 70-51; def. No. 2 Sand Creek, 61-50.

WHO TO KNOW — Pueblo West: Taylor Leyva, Daisy Romero, Haley Simental. D’Evelyn: Laura Tyree, Mallory Seemann, Malia Shappell.

COACHES — Pueblo West: Gil Lucero. D’Evelyn: Chris Olson.

STORY LINE — Both teams return to the Coors Events Center for the second year in a row. D’Evelyn was state runner-up in 2012, beating Pueblo South in the semifinals and falling to Air Academy in the title game. Pueblo West lost to Air Academy in the semis. D’Evelyn has won 20 straight, with the only loss coming to 5A semifinalist Grandview. West, led by Taylor Leyva’s 17.6 points per game, has won 10 straight. You want defense? Both of these teams allow fewer than 40 points per game.


TIME — 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Coors Events Center.

ROAD TO BOULDER — Broomfield: (No. 1 seed in Carol Callan Region) def. No. 8 Evergreen 61-29; def. No. 5 Mullen 52-27; def. No. 2 Montrose 51-41. Pueblo South: (No. 1 seed in Richard Tate Region) def. No. 8 Mountain View 57-31; def. No. 5 Berthoud 63-24; def. No. 2 Mesa Ridge 54-33.

WHO TO KNOW — Broomfield: Callie Kaiser, Stacie Hull, Bri Wilber. Pueblo South: Mikala Gordon, Shannon Patterson, Sissy Hall.

COACHES — Broomfield: Mike Croell. Pueblo South: Shannan Lane.

STORY LINE — Broomfield, winner of five straight state titles from 2007-11, returns to the Final Four after a one-year hiatus. The Eagles have won 19 games in a row, with their lone loss on the season coming to 5A semifinalist Arapahoe. While Callie Kaiser leads the way with 13 points per game, the next four for Broomfield average between 7.8 and 8.3. Pueblo South, which has won four in a row since a late loss to Pueblo West, is led by the 1-2 scoring duo of Mikala Gordon and Shannon Patterson.



TIME — 7 p.m. Thursday, Coors Events Center.

ROAD TO BOULDER — Regis: (No. 1 seed in Kaye Garms Region) def. No. 8 Smoky Hill 75-33; def. No. 5 Fort Collins 54-40; def. No. 3 Horizon 55-42. Grandview: (No. 1 seed in Alice Barron Region) def. No. 8 Chatfield 61-32; def. No. 4 Rock Canyon 59-33; def. No. 3 Chaparral 55-38.

WHO TO KNOW — Regis: Justine Hall, Diani Akigbogun, Kelsi Lidge. Grandview: Natasha Edge, Adaeze Obinnah, Natalie Halbleib.

COACHES — Regis: Carl Mattei. Grandview: Josh Ulitzky.

STORY LINE — Regis is no stranger to the Coors Events Center, having made five of the last six 5A Final Fours. The Raiders won the 2009 title and were runner-up in 2008 and 2011. Regis’ only in-state loss came against ThunderRidge, and the Raiders beat Grandview 59-53 in their only meeting this season on Jan. 12. Grandview, the Centennial League champ whose only other loss came to Arapahoe, has never won a state title.


TIME — 8:30 p.m. Thursday, Coors Events Center.

ROAD TO BOULDER — Highlands Ranch: (No. 1 seed in Sharon Wilch Region) def. No. 8 Pine Creek 71-38; def. No. 5 Lakewood 60-40; def. No. 3 Ralston Valley 57-43. Arapahoe: (No. 1 seed in Rhonda Blanford-Green Region) def. No. 8 Brighton 68-23; def. No. 4 Fruita Monument 78-32; def. No. 2 ThunderRidge 54-45.

WHO TO KNOW — Highlands Ranch: Kelsey Wainright, Madison Montgomery. Arapahoe: Stacey Lukasiewicz, Carly Buechler, Kera Riley.

COACHES — Highlands Ranch: Caryn Jarocki. Arapahoe: Jerry Knafelc.

STORY LINE — Like the early 5A semifinal, it’s a Continental vs. Centennial league matchup, as Arapahoe took second in the latter to Grandview and Highlands Ranch shared the former with Regis and ThunderRidge. Regis and Palmer were the lone in-state squads to top Highlands Ranch this season. Not a single Arapahoe player averages double-digit scoring despite the Warriors putting up 61.5 per game as a team. Highlands Ranch owns seven state titles since 2000, including the latest in 2011 over Regis.